

**Agenda for Meeting August 14, 2017** @ 6:00 PM Booster Club 99 Main Street Ashland **Ashland 4<sup>th</sup> of July Committee** PO Box 12, Ashland NH 03217 <u>AshlandNHIndependenceDay@gmail.com</u>

f https://www.facebook.com/AshlandNhFourthOfJulyCelebration?ref=bookmarks

Committee Attendees: Amanda Loud, Katie Maher, Laura Dion, Glenn Dion, Harold Lamos, David Ruell, Katrina Randlett, Sue Harville, John Harville, Phylliss Reitsma, Caroline Gosse, Rebecca Morrill, Deb Perdue, Fran Wendelboe, Stephen Uhlman, Patti Heinz, Kendall Hughes, Lynn Uhlman Absent:

Optional Attendees: Tony Randall (police chief). Susan MacLeod (Heritage Commission)

Open to the public

Stakeholders receiving minutes: Mardean Badger; Mark Liebert, Chair AARA

Scribe: Timekeeper: Amanda Loud, Chair

Fireworks Monday, July 3 Rain Date Wed., July 5<sup>th</sup> Parade Tuesday, July 4<sup>th</sup> 10AM

## Agenda

Meeting called to order at: 6:00 PM

- 2. Secretary's Report
  - a. Meeting Minutes Minutes of June meeting were approved. Glenn Dion moved, Katie Maher seconded
- 3. Finance Officer -Laura Dion

Approximately \$22,000 is the balance. There are accounting issues which need to be resolved. There is \$2100 in uncollected advertising fees, and \$2750 is uncollected from Chesley's.

4. 2017 FIREWORKS & PARADE EVENT PLAN: Review and analysis of event

Horses were spooked by trucks. There is a need to keep horses separated.

Delayed finale on the fireworks. People thought fireworks were finished and began leaving.

There were dogs on the field, despite that dogs are not allowed.

Portapotties were finally picked up.

## 5. Heritage Commission

Heritage Commission outlined the rules for the Ashland Fourth of July Committee. These rules are in compliance with official town committee RSAs. Susan MacLeod, chair of the Heritage Commission, briefed those present on the rules, emphasizing the need not to discuss meeting matters via email. Susan also outlined how the A4J Committee functions through the Heritage Commission.

6. Election of new officers

Resigned: Amanda Loud, Katie Maher, Glenn Dion.

Laura Dion (financial officer) agreed to stay on the committee until the accounting issues with the Heritage Commission have been resolved. Caroline Gosse agreed to continue on the committee.

Katie Maher discussed the fundraising difficulties in recent years.

New A4J Committee: The former committee suggested the following offices. The by-laws require a chair, secretary, and financial officer.

Fireworks Chair Committee Chair Finance Officer



Secretary
Parade Chair
Fundraising Chair
Publicity Chair

2017-2018 Committee
Harold Lamos
David Ruell
Katrina Randlett
Sue and John Harville
Phylliss Reitsma
Caroline Gosse
Rebecca Morrill
Deb Perdue
Fran Wendelboe
Stephen Uhlman
Anthony Randall
Kendall Hughes
Lynn Uhlman

Meeting was recessed at 7:00 pm. The new A4J Committee continued the meeting with the following new officers: Chair: Fran Wendelboe (nominated by Kendall Hughes, Seconded by Rebecca Morrill)

Secretary: Deb Perdue (nominated by Rebecca Morrill, seconded by Kendall Hughes)

Financial Officer: Katrina Randlett (nominated by Katrina Randlett, seconded by Rebecca Morrill)

The meeting continued at 7:10 pm under the direction of the new officers. A pledge of allegiance was called.

- 1. Heritage Commission Another discussion was had about how we are connected to the Heritage Commission and ideas of changing what organization we fall under. Fran was going to look into this more.
- 2. Fireworks A vote was done to ensure the intent of the committee was to continue fireworks in 2018 (Kendall made the motion, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Phyliss Ritsma and was unanimously approved.
- 3. Officers in addition to officers suggested by previous committee it was discussed to have a Field Chair, Parking Chair. Kendall Hughes will be fireworks chair (nominated by Kendall Hughes seconded by Rebecca Morrill) John Harville will be a 2<sup>nd</sup> to work with the fireworks.
- 4. Meeting Date –A discussion was had about the date and time of the meeting A motion was made by Caroline Gosse to move the meetings to 7:00 rather than 6:00, seconded by Kendall Hughes, A motion was made by Katrina Randlett to move to Wednesday and was seconded by Rebecca Morrill. If the booster club is not available on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Wednesday of the month, the meeting will take place at St. Marks Episcopal Church on Highland St.
- 5. Adjournment motion to adjourn was made by Caroline Gosse at 8:10 2<sup>nd</sup> by Susan Harville

Next Meeting: Wednesday September 13<sup>th</sup> at 7:00 at St. Marks Episcopal Church on Highland St.